Developing

07Jan08

Searching for some inspiration. Developing a style to sell. With financial survival on my mind, I appreciate my privilege to indulge in my creative talent to achieve this opposed to being subjected to perhaps a more practical profession for society like construction. Collecting images I see around me to filter them in my own way to express, other artist’s work is one of my key inspirations like comic books. An English stencil-tagging artist I have just recently discovered, Banksy, is a extremely conceptual and very developed drawer who works mainly with political and cultural satire. Artists like this give me a better idea of what direction I would like to take with my work. Conceptual and aesthetic drawing applied to other media. Public, poster, magazine, and clothes design. We’ll see……What inspires you?

Banksy

Hunters by Banksy

3 Responses to “Developing”

  1. 1 kevinhubbard

    Nice layout..although I may be slightly biased.
    I read ‘Banksy, Wall and Piece’ lately and I find it interesting/funny/tragic/wonderful that the style of such an anti-capitalistic artist is being appropriated by so many with such contrary motivations.

    Check out Tobias Wong perhaps. His ‘Burberry’ buttons were actually appropriated by the company he sought to critique.

  2. banksy is seriously played out.
    the work he is doing now is pretty bland compared to alot of the site specific work he was doing a few years ago.

  3. 3 webdiva

    Great comment Kevin = I find that many contemporary artists walk the line between critique and appropriation…
    One of the great things about being in London was stumbling across Banksy’s work in random places


Leave a Reply

